Monday, September 20, 2010

The Book of Small

The longlist is here and it's notable for it's absences.
No Alison Pick, no Camilla Gibb, not Emma Donoghue; I could go on.

On reflection, there will be some play for small presses, always a good thing- and if it doesn't go to Jane Urquhart, I'd like to see Cordelia Strube win for team Coach House.

The Giller longlist is-

• David Bergen for The Matter With Morris (Phyllis Bruce Books/HarperCollins)

• Douglas Coupland for Player One (House of Anansi Press)

• Michael Helm for Cities of Refuge (McClelland & Stewart)

• Alexander MacLeod for his short story collection Light Lifting (Biblioasis)

• Avner Mandelman fo The Debba (Other Press/Random House of Canada)

• Tom Rachman for The Imperfectionists (Dial/Random House of Canada)

• Sarah Selecky for her short story collection This Cake Is For The Party (Thomas Allen Publishers)

• Johanna Skibsrud for The Sentimentalists (Gaspereau Press)

• Cordelia Strube for Lemon (Coach House Books)

• Joan Thomas for Curiosity (McClelland & Stewart)

• Jane Urquhart for Sanctuary Line (McClelland & Stewart)

• Dianne Warren for Cool Water (Phyllis Bruce Books/HarperCollins)

• Kathleen Winter for Annabel (House of Anansi Press)

The list tightens up on Oct 5, and the big day is Nov 9

The bigger day is two days later when Alison Pick drops by

No comments:

Related Posts with Thumbnails